Biography of Michael Wernick

Photo of Michael Wernick

Michael Wernick was appointed Clerk of the Privy Council and Secretary to the Cabinet on January 22, 2016.

He was Deputy Clerk of the Privy Council and Associate Secretary to the Cabinet from October 6, 2014 to January 21, 2016.  Prior to this appointment, Mr. Wernick was Deputy Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada from May 2006 to July 2014, and Senior Advisor to the Privy Council Office from July to September 2014.

Since joining the federal public service in 1981, Mr. Wernick has worked at the Social Policy Division of the Department of Finance, Consumer and Corporate Affairs Canada, the Economic and Regional Development Policy Secretariat of the Privy Council Office, and the Constitutional Affairs Secretariat of the Federal-Provincial Relations Office.  From 1996 to 2003, he served as Assistant Deputy Minister and then as Associate Deputy Minister at the Department of Canadian Heritage.  From 2003 to 2006, he served three Prime Ministers as Deputy Secretary to the Cabinet, Plans and Consultations, at the Privy Council Office.

In an eight-year tenure at Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development from 2006 to 2014, Mr. Wernick assisted four Ministers in advancing the Government’s Aboriginal and Northern agendas.

Mr. Wernick has the unique distinction of having been deeply involved in the transition process and start up of three new governments, and attending the swearing in and first Cabinet meeting of three Prime Ministers (Martin in 2003, Harper in 2006, Trudeau in 2015).

Mr. Wernick has developed many of today’s public service leaders.  Prior to becoming Clerk, fifteen members of his management teams had been promoted to or within the Deputy Minister community.

Mr. Wernick received B.A. and M.A. degrees in Economics from the University of Toronto.  Mr. Wernick is Vice Chair of the Board of Governors of Carleton University.

In November 2012, Mr. Wernick was awarded the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal.

Biographie de Michael Wernick

Photo de Michael Wernick

Michael Wernick a été nommé au poste de greffier du Conseil privé et secrétaire du Cabinet le 22 janvier 2016.

Il a occupé le poste de sous-greffier du Conseil privé et secrétaire associé du Cabinet du 6 octobre 2014 au 21 janvier 2016.  Avant cette nomination, M. Wernick a occupé le poste de sous-ministre des Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada de mai 2006 jusqu’en juillet 2014 et conseiller spécial au bureau du Conseil privé de juillet à septembre 2014.

Depuis son entrée dans la fonction publique fédérale, en 1981, M. Wernick a travaillé à la Division de la politique sociale du ministère des Finances, au ministère de la Consommation et des Affaires commerciales, au Secrétariat de la politique de développement économique et régional du Bureau du Conseil privé ainsi qu’au Secrétariat des affaires constitutionnelles du Bureau des relations fédérales-provinciales.  De 1996 à 2003, il a été sous-ministre adjoint puis sous-ministre délégué au ministère du Patrimoine canadien.  De 2003 à 2006, il a été au service de trois premiers ministres en tant que sous-secrétaire du Cabinet, Planification et consultations, au Bureau du Conseil privé.

Durant les huit années au poste de sous-ministre aux Affaires autochtones et développement du Nord canadien, de 2006 à 2014, M. Wernick a aidé quatre ministres à promouvoir les programmes du gouvernement visant les Autochtones et le Nord.

M. Wernick se distingue par le fait qu’il a été très impliqué dans le processus de transition et de mise en marche de trois nouveaux gouvernements et qu’il a participé à la cérémonie d’assermentation ainsi qu’à la première réunion du Cabinet de trois premiers ministres (Martin en 2003, Harper en 2006, Trudeau en 2015).

M. Wernick a formé un bon nombre de dirigeants actuels de la fonction publique.  Avant de devenir greffier, quinze membres de ses équipes de gestion avaient été promus à et/ou au sein de la communauté des sous-ministres.

M. Wernick est diplômé de l’Université de Toronto, où il a obtenu un baccalauréat et une maîtrise en économie.  M. Wernick est vice-président du Bureau des gouverneurs de l’Université Carleton.

Au mois de novembre 2012, M. Wernick a reçu la Médaille du Jubilé de Diamant de la Reine Elizabeth II.